Sunday, 03 March 2024

The MOU Signed Between Medics Academy and the University of Kelaniya

A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) was signed between the University of Kelaniya and Medics Academy, UK on 17th January 2024 at the Vice Chancellor’s Office. 

Medics Academy stands as a prominent online education platform, specializing in novel and innovative learning methods tailored for healthcare professionals and students. The diverse Medics Academy team, comprised of doctors, engineers, artists, and filmmakers, is dedicated to creating compelling content, delivering high-quality education, and empowering health professionals globally through innovative educational approaches and continuous professional development.

As part of this collaboration, Medics Academy has committed to providing an annual investment of £10,000 over the next three years. This investment aims to establish and maintain a resource center affiliated with the Department of Medical Education at the University of Kelaniya, specifically supporting tech-based medical education research. Both institutions pledge to enhance their tech-based research outlook and foster placements and exchanges for undergraduate and postgraduate healthcare professions students and academic programs.

Additionally, Medics Academy will sponsor a PhD student affiliated with the Department of Medical Education. This student will conduct research in the Med-Tech space, producing research papers focused on the utilization of the Medics Academy platform within the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Kelaniya.

The MOU was signed between Dr Johann Malawana, CEO of Medics Academy, and Senior Professor Nilanthi De Silva, Vice Chancellor of the University of Kelaniya, and Mr. K. K. K. Dharmathilaka, Registrar, on behalf of the University of Kelaniya.  Other key attendees at this MOU signing ceremony included Professor Derek Gallen, Lead Academic at Medics Academy, Professor Madawa Chandratilake, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Dr. Pavithra Godamunne, Head of the Department of Medical Education, as well as Mr. Dinesh Fernandopulle, Mr. Chamath Perera, Mr. Sajade Kitchilan, and Ms. Dewmini Perera from Medics Academy.



Subscribe to our newsletter. Don’t miss any news or stories.

We do not spam!