Thursday, 23 March 2023

CVCD Excellence Awards - 2022

CVCD Excellence Awards have been presented by the Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Directors

since 2006 to recognize, appreciate, and honour the outstanding contributions, accomplishments and impact made by academic staff in the Sri Lankan state University system. The work of many outstanding researchers in our universities have been recognized through these awards, which are made every other year.

This year, the CVCD Awards Ceremony was held in the BMICH on 2 Sept 2022 at 3.00 p.m, under the distinguished patronage of the Chief Guest Prof Ranjith Senarathne, Chairman of the National Science Foundation and Guests of Honour Mr Nihal Ranasinghe, Secretary to the Ministry of Education and Prof Sampath Amaratunge, Chairman of the University Grants Commission.

The awards were made in the categories of Most Outstanding Senior Researcher, Most Outstanding Young Researcher, and Most Outstanding Inventor. The Most Outstanding Senior Researcher and the Most Outstanding Young Researcher awards were offered in six separate fields of study. Recipients of the awards were determined through an open and transparent process initiated by a call for applications circulated to all universities. The 76 applications received in response to the last call were evaluated by independent panels of 3 – 5 eminent academics in each of the relevant field of study, drawn from all state universities, and who scored the applications without prejudice or bias. 

Award winners in the Most Outstanding Senior Researcher category included Prof Nadira Karunaweera, Senior Professor of Parasitology in the University of Colombo (in the field of Health Sciences); Prof Jagath Manatunge, Professor in Environmental Engineering at the University of Moratuwa (Technology & related sciences);  Prof M M Pathmalal, Senior Professor of Zoology and Acting Vice-Chancellor at the University of Sri Jayewardenepura (Biological Sciences); Prof Meththika Vithanage, Professor in Natural Resources at the University of Sri Jayewardenepura (Physical Sciences); Prof Lasantha Manawadu, Senior Professor of Geography at the University of Colombo (Humanities, Aesthetics and Social Sciences); and Prof Vathsala Wickramasinghe, Senior Professor in Management of Tehcnology at the University of Moratuwa (Management and Law).

Award winners in the Most Outstanding Young Researcher category included Prof Anjana Silva, Professor in Medical Parasitology, Rajarata University of Sri Lanka (Health Sciences); Prof Jeevani Jayasinghe, Professor in Electrotechnology, Wayamba University of Sri Lanka and Ms B H Mallawaarachchi, Senior Lecturer in Building Economics, University of Moratuwa (Technology & related sciences); Prof Nayana Gunathilake, Professor in Parasitology, University of Kelaniya (Biological Sciences); Dr Anushka Rajapakse, Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Applied Sciences, University of Sri Jayewardenepura (Physical Sciences); and Dr Dinesha Samararatne, Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Law, University of Colombo (Management and Law).

Dr Pradeep Samarasekera, Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Computing and Technology, University of Kelaniya won the CVCD Excellence Award for the Most Outstanding Inventor.

The CVCD was established in 1979 under the Universities Act No 16 of 1978. It serves as a forum for direct interaction between Sri Lankan universities, and as an advisor to the UGC, highlighting the difficulties faced by universities, and recommending policies and specific actions that could resolve such difficulties. Currently the CVCD consists of the Vice-Chancellors of 22 state Universities (including all 17 universities under the UGC) and the Rectors of two Campuses.


Subscribe to our newsletter. Don’t miss any news or stories.

We do not spam!